Tasman District

The Tasman District is administered by the Tasman District Council located at the northern end of the South Island. The district covers 9,786 square kilometres and is bounded to the west by the Matiri Ranges, Tasman Mountains and the Tasman Sea. To the north, the Tasman and Golden bays form its seaward edge, and the eastern boundary extends to the edge of Nelson City. The climate of the region is mild although can become extreme in mountainous area (average daily maximum and minimum temperatures in February are 22.4 and 12.4 0C and in July are 12.9 and 1.6 oC). The region receives an average of 970 mm of precipitation each year.



Andrew Burton (Tasman DC) co-ordinates the collection of all soil samples from the Tasman District



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s